The Department of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (DHERST) would like to inform the general public that consistent with the TESAS Handbook of Policy and Procedures 2016, all Fortnightly Allowances (formerly known as NATSCHOL/Pocket Allowances) will be disbursed directly to TESAS students in all Higher and Technical Education Institutions (HTEIs) in the country through their individual bank accounts commencing first semester 2016.

DHERST wishes to now inform that it has paid Fortnightly Allowances for about 5,169 TESAS students in 23 HTEIs across the country.

DHERST also wishes to inform that 12 HTEIs have not submitted or submitted incomplete bank account details for their TESAS students. Additionally, some have no registered students’ listings. Therefore, Fortnightly Allowances for TESAS Students at the remaining 12 HTEIs will be paid directly to these Institutions who will then pay their students as per the previous arrangement.

Once all completed TESAS students’ bank accounts details are submitted, DHERST will then pay directly to students’ accounts by second semester, 2016 on a fortnightly basis.

Below are the names of the Higher and Technical Education Institutions and their respective payments for Fortnightly Allowances for TESAS Students.

1 PNG University of Technology (Continuing students)
2 University of Natural Resources and Environment
3 Divine Word University
4 Bulolo University College
5 Port Moresby Business College
6 Madang Technical College
7 Enga Teachers College
8 St Benedict’s Teachers College
9 Sonoma Adventist College
10 St Peter’s Channel College
11 Highlands Regional School of Nursing
12 Lutheran School of Nursing
13 Nazarene School of Nursing
14 St. Mary’s School of Nursing
15 Kokopo Business College
16 Dauli Teachers College
17 Timber and Forestry Training College
18 Gaulim Teachers College
19 National Polytechnic Institute of PNG
20 Goroka Technical College
21 Enga School of Nursing
22 Kabaleo Teachers College
23 Port Moresby Technical College


1 University of PNG
2 University of Goroka
3 Pacific Adventist University
4 Mt Hagen Technical College
5 Don Bosco Technical Institute
6 Institute of Business Studies
7 Holy Trinity Teachers College
8 Balob Teachers College
9 Madang Teachers College
10 St Barnabas School of Nursing
11 Mendi School of Nursing
12 Lae School of Nursing


TESAS Students are hereby informed that fortnightly allowance is K30 per fortnight and for a semester (10 fortnights) is K300. DHERST intends to eventually pay these allowances directly to all TESAS students’ accounts on a fortnightly basis. Each TESAS student should therefore, expect K300 in their bank account for semester one, 2016. Students whose bank accounts were not credited from the 23 Institutions stated above must report to DHERST through your respective HTEIs prior to us processing your allowances. Moreover, TESAS Students are urged to report any issues regarding your allowances to DHERST through your concerned HTEIs management.

For further information or clarification please contact Mr. Samuel Vaulai – Manager, Sector Funding on telephone 301 2068 or email to:

David Kavanamur

David Kavanamur

Professor David Kavanamur is the Secretary for the Department of Higher Education, Research, Science & Technology (DHERST).

See all posts by dkavanamur